Western Australia locks down all Australian states and territories

It comes as Premier Mark McGowan ruled today the North territory an “extreme risk” area from 12:01 am on Thursday January 13th.

“We have acted quickly in the Northern Territory, to reduce the risk of more Omicron self-quarantine cases,” said Mr. McGowan.

“We know that the Omicron variant is spreading rapidly across much of the country and, unfortunately, the Northern Territory is now also seeing an accelerating workload in the community.”

Under “extreme risk” border restrictions, travel is not permitted within Western Australia except in “the most exceptional circumstances”.

“Exemptions for approved travelers will be further limited to Commonwealth and State officials, Members of Parliament, diplomats, and specialized or extraordinary circumstances as determined by the State Emergency Coordinator or Chief of Public Health “the government of Western Australia said in a statement.

All states and territories in Australia are now considered “extreme risks” by Western Australia. (Getty)

This is the latest move by the government of Western Australia to block the spread of the Omicron variant in the state.

All other states and territories – Queensland, South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and ACT – are already “extreme risk” areas.

From this date, international and national arrivals will no longer have to be quarantined, provided they have been doubly vaccinated.

International arrivals will still need to return a negative PCR test 72 hours prior to travel, followed by a second PCR test on the second and sixth days upon arrival in Perth.

Unvaccinated travelers should always self-quarantine at a hotel facility upon arrival.

All domestic arrivals to Western Australia must be double-dose vaccinated.

Western Australia is now working to increase vaccination rates ahead of the February 5 reopening.

“Our controlled border remains a vital tool in protecting Western Australia as we strive to push our vaccination rates as high as possible around February 5, including third doses and vaccinations for children ages five to 11. years, ”Mr. McGowan said.

Western Australia's Prime Minister Mark McGowan said the February 5 date was
Premier Mark McGowan announced in December that the state would open on February 5. (9News)

Health Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson said yesterday that one of four new cases in the community was a family member of a traveler returning from Tasmania and was contagious in the community.

Coles Eastgardens

How Australia coped with the emergence of the Omicron variant

At least three cases of Omicron have been detected in Western Australia in recent days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.