Saudi Arabia bans travel to India and other countries due to covid

Following the resurgence of Covid-19 and the rapid increase in the number of daily Covid infections in recent weeks, Saudi Arabia has banned its citizens from traveling to sixteen countries, including India.

The sixteen countries where citizens of Saudi Arabia are prohibited from traveling other than India include Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Ethiopia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Libya, Indonesia, Vietnam, Armenia, Belarus, and Venezuela, Gulf News reported.

In addition, the Saudi Ministry of Health has assured the public that no cases of monkeypox have been detected in the country. Abdullah Asiri, Deputy Minister of Health for preventive health, has said that the Kingdom has the capacity to monitor and discover any suspected cases of monkeypox and also to fight the infection if any new cases arise.

“Until now, cases of human-to-human transmission are very limited, and therefore the possibility of any outbreak from it, even in countries that have detected cases, is very low,” he added.

Meanwhile, the World Health Organization (WHO) has confirmed 80 cases of monkeypox in 11 countries and said they are working to better understand the extent and cause of the outbreak.

In a statement issued on Friday, the WHO said the virus is endemic in some animal populations in several countries, causing occasional outbreaks among locals and travellers.

Leave a Comment